

DISTRICT OF PORT HARDY

PROGRAM FOR INAUGURAL MEETING OF COUNCIL 7:00 PM TUESDAY, DECEMBER 2, 2014

MUNICIPAL HALL COUNCIL CHAMBERS

- 1. 6:00 PM COUNCIL PORTRAITS GROUP & INDIVIDUAL
- 2. 7:00 PM INAUGURAL COUNCIL MEETING
- 3. RECEPTION



DISTRICT OF PORT HARDY

INAUGURAL COUNCIL MEETING TUESDAY, DECEMBER 2, 2014 7:00 pm - Municipal Hall Council Chambers

INAUGURAL COUNCIL MEETING AGENDA

Council Members:		Deputy Mayor John Tidbury and Councillors Janet Dorward, Jessie Hemphill, Rick Marcotte and Nikki Shaw			
Council Elect:		Mayor Hank Bood and Councillors Pat Corbett-Labatt, Dennis Dugas, Jessie Hemphill, Rick Marcotte, Fred Robertson and John Tidbury			
Staff	÷	Rick Davidge, Chief Administrative Office Development Services; Allison McCarric Kushner, Director of Engineering & Oper Secretary	k, Director of Fin	nancial Services; Trevor	
1.	Call to Order	- Deputy Mayor John Tidbury		Time:	
2.	Approval of <i>A</i> Resolution re	-	1.	2.	
3.	Address to New Council by Deputy Mayor John Tidbury				
4.	Oath of Office Ceremony - Paul Grier, Barrister & Solicitor, will deliver the Oath of Office. Mayor – Oath of Office Councillors – Oath of Office After the swearing in ceremony, the Deputy Mayor and non-incumbent Council members will vacate their seats, and Mayor Hank Bood will take the Mayor's chair and will welcome the new Councillors to the Council table.				
5.	Mayor's Address – Mayor Hank Bood				
6.	Presentation to Past Council Members – Mayor Hank Bood				
7.	Staff Report from Jeff Long, Dir. Corporate & Development Services (Nov 26/14) re: Deputy Mayor - Schedule for 2014 – 2018 Term				
9.	Next Regular Council Meeting Date: Tuesday December 9, 2014 at 7:00 pm				
10.	Adjournment Resolution re		1.	Time:	



TO: Rick Davidge, Chief Administrative Officer
FROM: Jeff Long, Director of Corporate & Development Services
RE: DEPUTY MAYOR SCHEDULE FOR 2014 – 2018 TERM

PURPOSE

To provide for Council's consideration, a schedule of rotation for Councillors to serve as Deputy Mayor for the 2014 to 2018 term.

REGULATORY AUTHORITY

Section 130 of the Community Charter requires that Council must, in accordance with its applicable procedure bylaw, provide for the designation of a councillor as the member responsible for acting in the place of the Mayor when the Mayor is absent or otherwise unable to act or when the office of the Mayor is vacant. In this regard, section 9.(1) of Council Procedure Bylaw No. 03-2009 requires that at the inaugural meeting of Council, Council must designate each of its members to serve, on a rotating basis, as Deputy Mayor to act in the place of the Mayor when the Mayor is absent or otherwise unable to act, or when the office of the Mayor is vacant.

RECOMMENDATION

THAT Council endorses the following appointments of Deputy Mayor for the 2014 – 2018 term:

TERM	DEPUTY MAYOR	
December 2, 2014 – July 31, 2015	Councillor Rick Marcotte	
August 1, 2015 – March 31, 2016	Councillor John Tidbury	
April 1, 2016 – November 30, 2016	Councillor Jessie Hemphill	
December 1, 2016 – July 31, 2017	Councillor Pat Corbett-Labatt	
August 1, 2017 – March 31, 2018	Councillor Dennis Dugas	
April 1, 2018 – December 4, 2018	Councillor Fred Robertson	

DEPUTY MAYOR SCHEDULE

Respectfully submitted,

Jeff Long Director of Corporate &

I agree with the recommendation.

Rick Davidge Chief Administrative Officer