

DISTRICT OF PORT HARDY

PROGRAM
FOR INAUGURAL MEETING OF COUNCIL
7:00 PM TUESDAY NOVEMBER 6, 2018

MUNICIPAL HALL COUNCIL CHAMBERS

RECEPTION TO FOLLOW



DISTRICT OF PORT HARDY INAUGURAL COUNCIL MEETING TUESDAY NOVEMBER 6, 2018 7:00 PM - MUNICIPAL HALL COUNCIL CHAMBERS

INAUGURAL COUNCIL MEETING AGENDA

Council Members:		Deputy Mayor Leighton Wishart and Councillors Pat Corbett-Labatt, Rick Marcotte, Fred Robertson and John Tidbury				
Council Elect:		Mayor Dennis Dugas and Councillors Pat Corbett-Labatt, Janet Dorward, Fred Robertson, Treena Smith, John Tidbury and Leightan Wishart				
Staff:		Allison McCarrick, Chief Administrative Officer; Heather Nelson-Smith, Director of Corporate & Development Services; Lynda Sowerby, Director of Financial Services; Abbas Farahbakhsh, Director of Operational Services; Leslie Driemel, Confidential Secretary				
A.	CALL TO ORD	DER - Deputy Mayor Leightan Wishart		Time	:	
В.	APPROVAL OF AGENDA					
	Resolution re	quired	1.	2.		
C.	Address to New Council - Deputy Mayor Leightan Wishart					
D.	Oath of Office Ceremony - Paul Grier, Barrister & Solicitor will deliver the Oath of Office.					
	Mayor - Oath of Office Councillors - Oath of Office					
	vacate their s	er the swearing in ceremony, the Deputy Mayor and non-incumbent Council members will ate their seats, and Mayor Dennis Dugas will take the Mayor's chair and will welcome the v Councillors to the Council table.				
E.	Mayor's Address - Mayor Dennis Dugas					
F.	Presentation to Past Council Members - Mayor Dennis Dugas					
G.		Report - Heather Nelson-Smith, Director of Corporate Services (Oct 30/18) re: Deputy Mayor dule for 2018 – 2022 Term.				
	Resolution re	quired	1.	2.		
н.	INFORMATIO	ON AND ANNOUNCEMENTS				
	Next Regular Council Meeting Date: Tuesday November 13, 2018 at 7:00 pm.					
I.	ADJOURNME	ENT				
	Resolution re	quired	1.	Time:		



DISTRICT OF PORT HARDY STAFF REPORT

TO:

Allison McCarrick, CAO

FROM:

Heather Nelson-Smith, Director of Corporate Services

SUBJECT:

Deputy Mayor Schedule 2018-2022 Term

DATE:

October 30, 2018

PURPOSE

To provide for Council's consideration, a schedule of rotation for Councillors to serve as Deputy Mayor for the term 2018-2022.

AUTHORITY

Section 130 of the *Community Charter* requires that Council must, in accordance with the Council Procedure Bylaw, provide for the designation of a Council member to act in the absence of the Mayor when the Mayor is absent or otherwise unable to act or when the office of the Mayor is vacant.

Council Procedure Bylaw No. 03-2009 requires that at the inaugural meeting of Council, Council must designate each of its members to serve on a rotating basis.

RECOMMENDATION

THAT Council endorse the following appointments of Deputy Mayor for the 2018-2022 term:

TERM	DEPUTY MAYOR
November 6, 2018 – June 30, 2019	Fred Robertson
July 1, 2019– February 29, 2020	John Tidbury
March 1, 2020 - October 31, 2020	Pat Corbett-Labatt
November 1, 2020 – June 30, 2021	Janet Dorward
July 1, 2021 – February 28, 2022	Leightan Wishart
March 1, 2022 - November 8, 2022	Treena Smith

Respectfully Submitted,

I agree with this recommendation,

Heather Nelson-Smith

Director of Corporate Services

Allison McCarrick,

CAO