have questions?

Can't find what you're looking for?

Fill out the form below and we'll do our best to help!

    Current Council Members / Strategic Plan

    District Council Intro

    The  level of government closest to the citizens of this community is the District of Port Hardy Municipal Government, where the elected Mayor and Council set policy on how staff and contractors provide many critical services to the community.


    2018-2022 Port Hardy District Council

    Back Row L-R- Councillor Tidbury, Councillor Dorward, Councillor Robertson, Councillor Wishart

    Front Row L-R- Councillor  Corbett-Labatt, Mayor Dugas, Councillor Smith


    Photo Credit Kimberley Kufaas Photography (2018)

    Council Strategic Plan

    Council Strategic Plan

    Strategic Plan Update


    Dennis Dugas

    Tel: 250 902 9446
    Email: ddugas@porthardy.arraydev.net

    Dennis Dugas moved to Port Hardy in 1970 from Saskatoon, Saskatchewan to work for MacMillan Bloedel (M&B) in the logging industry.  Married in 1973 to Louise Crookall they raised one daughter and two sons in Port Hardy and their sons and their grandchildren still reside in the community.  Dennis started working for the District of Port Hardy in 1974 in the Public Works Department, moved to EPCOR Water Services for thirteen years and then back to employment with the District, retiring in October 2014.  Over the past 40 years Dennis has been involved with a number of community groups and activities including; minor hockey, slow-pitch, old-timers hocking, curling, hiking, camping, fishing and enjoying the natural beauty of Port Hardy.


    Most recently Dennis has been a member and vice-president of the Port Hardy & District Chamber of Commerce and a member of the FILOMI Days Committee. Dennis is honoured to have been elected as Mayor and looks forward to serving the residents of Port Hardy for the next four years.


    Serves on: Executive Committee, Finance Committee, Regional District of Mount Waddington, Regional District Hospital Board and  Island Coast Economic Trust.


    Patricia Corbett-Labatt

    Tel: 250 230 6488
    Email: pcorbett-labatt@porthardy.arraydev.net

    Councillor Corbett-Labatt was born in PEI into an Air Force family and over the years lived on several air force bases and communities across Canada and in Germany. Pat moved to Port Hardy in 1975, where she established her career, put down roots, learned how to fish, and entrenched herself into the community. Even while raising a family, taking courses, and working full-time, Pat has always been an active and involved member of the Port Hardy community. Now retired she feels her educational qualifications (highest credential Masters of Adult Education), administrative, and committee experience will be useful tools in being a Port Hardy councillor.



    Away from council, Pat enjoys fishing, gardening, being with her family, and travelling.


    Serves on: Executive Committee, Finance Committee, First Nations Relations Committee (Chair), Parks ,Recreation, Arts & Culture Committee, Mount Waddington Table of Partners,  Hardy Bay Seniors Citizens Society and the Port Hardy Twinning Society.


    Janet Dorward

    Tel: 250-949-1080
    Email: jdorward@porthardy.arraydev.net

    Janet Dorward was born and raised in Port Hardy and after spending her young adult years in other island communities, she returned to raise her family here.

    Janet has been active in the community since her return, from having reinvigorated Filomi Days in the early 2000’s to being an active and involved Rotarian for the past 18 years.

    She has been employed in a variety of roles in the insurance industry for over 25 years, from mailroom to manager, and continues to enjoy the challenge of her commercial insurance brokering work.



    Away from council and work, you can find Janet enjoying all sorts of outdoor activities but her favorites are hiking trails and trekking to remote camping spots. She also enjoys challenging herself with long distance triathlon – swimming, biking, and running.


    Serves on: Executive Committee, Finance Committee, Operational Services Committee, Parks, Recreations, Arts & Culture Committee, Tourism Advisory Committee, Regional District of Mount Waddington, Regional Hospital Board, Municipal Insurance Association (alternate), Job Fair Committee


    Fred Robertson

    Tel: 250 949 0499
    Email: frobertson@porthardy.arraydev.net

    Serves on: Executive Committee, Finance Committee,  Parks & Recreation Review Committee (chair), First Nations Relations Committee, Vancouver Island Regional Library, Mt. Waddington Table of Partners,  BC Ferries Northern Advisory, Port Hardy Heritage Society and the Poverty Pilot Program, Marine Plan Partnership (alternate)


    Treena Smith

    Tel: 778-257-2846
    Email: tsmith@porthardy.arraydev.net

    Treena Smith was born and raised in Port Hardy. She is a mother and has a great love for her community. Treena was the Manager of the Port Hardy and District Chamber of Commerce for four years and worked closely with individuals and businesses. She attended and hosted tourism conferences and was a part of multiple committees including developing a new brand for Port Hardy. Treena enjoyed being a part of the BC Chamber of Commerce lobbying the provincial government on behalf of the business community. She went on to become the Economic and Community Development Coordinator at the District of Port Hardy and was educated in local government.


    Serves on: Executive Committee, Finance Committee, Bear Smart Committee, Community Consultative Committee, Chamber of Commerce, Port Hardy Heritage Society (Museum), Vancouver Island North Tourism (VINTAC)


    John Tidbury

    Tel: 250 902 7218
    Email: jtidbury@porthardy.arraydev.net

    Serves on: Executive Committee, Finance Committee, Emergency Planning Committee, Operational Services Committee (chair) Regional District Mt. Waddington Board (alternate), Regional District Hospital Board (alternate), Mt. Waddington Regional Transportation Committee, North Island Regional Emergency Planning Committee the Vancouver Island North Woodlands Advisory Group.


    Leightan Wishart

    Tel: 250 949 1949
    Email: lwishart@porthardy.arraydev.net

    My wife and I moved to Port Hardy 28 years ago to raise our family but in the mean time have become attached to parts of the community.  We love the pace of life, the clean air, the friendly people and great friends. I ran for School Board when my sons where attending school 17 years ago and when I retired four years ago I decided I would try Council so I could help keep our community safe, productive and welcoming to new comers and visitors alike.


    I feel fortunate I was re-elected so I am able to continue working on improvements in both our education and community.



    Serves on: Executive Committee, Finance Committee, First Nations Relations Committee, Operational Services Committee, Emergency Planning Committee (Chair), Port Hardy Fire Rescue, Vancouver Island Regional Library (alternate), Marine Plan Partnership, Collaborative Health Care Working Group, Municipal Insurance Association (alternate)

    E-MAIL: For security reasons, the District of Port Hardy e-mail system does not accept messages from addresses that appear suspicious in any way. If you have contacted a Council member by e-mail and do not receive a timely response, please contact the District of Port Hardy at general@porthardy.arraydev.net or call 250-949-6665.